What are some of the funniest lies that parents have told their children?

I was a sucker for stuff like that

Answer by Kate Scott:

My mom used a trick on me for eating broccoli.
We had someone over for dinner when I was like 4 or something, and across the table I spotted…broccoli ­čśŽ
Before I could even say anything, my mom saw my look and exclaimed to our guest "Do you want to know an amazing fact about Caitlin?? She LOVES broccoli! It's her absolute favorite, she must be the only kid in the world who loves it, isn't that incredible?!"  To which the guest played along and sung my praises for being 'so grown up!' and 'how special is that?!' etc etc. (I was a sucker for stuff like that)
I instantly fell for it, and demanded to eat tons of the broccoli! From then on I loved it when my mom made broccoli, so I could prove how incredibly unique of a kid I was.

To this day… I freakin' LOVE broccoli!

What are some of the funniest lies that parents have told their children?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

