As a programmer, what tasks have you automated to make your everyday life easier?

As a programmer, what tasks have you automated to make your everyday life easier? by @architv07

Answer by Archit Verma:

  • I am a big football fan. It often happens that there is a live football match but I also have some work to do. So I sit down with my laptop to do the work but end up switching to the browser to check the scores every couple of minutes. To solve the problem, the idea of creating soccer-cli came to me. It's a simple command line app to get live football scores, standings, team scores. It's open source, check it out here architv/soccer-cli
  • A lot of times when I open source my code, I forget to add license to to it. Without a license, all code is copyright the author and may not be used by anyone. So to add license, every time I have to copy the license template and add my name to it. To automate the process I created harvey. It's again a CLI which manages and adds license to your open source project. It's here: architv/harvey
  • I used to participate in a lot of online programming contests(I still do, but not so frequently). These challenges happen on a number of websites like hackerrank, codechef, spoj, hackerearth etc. Every time I had to visit each of the website seperately to check whether there was a programming challenge taking place. To automate the process, I created an open source online programming challenge aggregator Challenge Hunt. Code: ChallengeHunt/challengehunt

As a programmer, what tasks have you automated to make your everyday life easier?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

